2018 QTOP A Grade Prelim Final

The QTOP A Grade Preliminary Finals will kick off with anticipation this weekend as the Currumbin Eagles and Tweed Heads Seagulls battle it out for the final spot in the 2018 QTOP A Grade Grand Final next weekend against the Runaway Bay Seagulls.

Knocking out the Tugun Seahawks last weekend, the Tweed Heads Seagulls are building in strength and confidence week by week. Although defeating the Seahawks 40-26, the Seagulls still need to improve if they want to appear in this year’s Grand Final. “We are working on defence and need to make sure we complete on the weekend,” Tweed Heads Seagulls Coach Kevin Campion said. The Seagulls know they will need more than fitness to defeat Currumbin. Campion commended his whole forward pack for working well and hard as a team and for each other and was pleased with the overall performance. Tre Williams and fullback Jayden Baker will be players to watch this weekend as they lift the confidence of the team.

Falling short against the Runaway Bay Seagulls 10-6 over the weekend, the Currumbin Eagles are hungry to take the last Grand Final spot. “A big focus for us is to make sure we get an equal amount of possession and not give up the ball,” Currumbin Eagles Coach Ryan Gundry said. Although having the week off assisted with their minor injuries, it may have impacted on their playing consistency and performance on the weekend. Gundry has commended the ‘young brigade’, Jakob Smith and Liam Donnelly for stepping up through the year and playing some great football. The Eagles know Tweed play a simple Rugby League game and will need to control the ball and complete sets.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Semi Final Preliminary Final Teams List

Currumbin Eagles v Tweed Heads Seagulls at Galleon Way, Sunday September 9 – 2pm

Currumbin Eagles

1. Hayden Allsop 2. Steven Elliott 3. Jakob Smith 4. Ken Allison 5. Xavier Coates 6. Michael Burgess 7. Phil Ramage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Daniel Webb 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Liam Donnelly 12. Blake Anderson 13. Blake Morrison 14. Kieran Tarrant 15. Mike Tiopira 16. Reece Worboys 17. Joel Rapana

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden Baker 2. Curtis Dansey-Smaller 3. Kody Parsons 4. TBA 5. Macauley Dawson 6. Tre Williams 7. Rex Johnson 8. Mitch Sharp 9. Shaun Carney 10. Josh Harvey 11. Kirk Murphy 12. Reece Summers 13. Sam Saville 14. Talor Walters 15. Mike Grey 16. Jordan Aiono 17. Ethan Price

Coach: Kevin Campion

Proud Sponsors of Rugby League Gold Coast

Titans Logo.png