2018 QTOP A Grade Round 6

The annual Bycroft Shield will be hosted by Southport Tigers at Owen Park on Saturday, taking on the Runaway Bay Seagulls who took out the shield in 2017. The Tigers and Seagulls match will be the highlighted match of Round 6 of the Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Competition.

As a handful of players were out due to injury and representative commitments, the Tigers struggled to field a side with only thirteen players left at full time and falling short to the Tweed Head Seagulls 40-6. “We lacked numbers against Tweed, however we always look forward and never back,” Southport Tigers Coach Mark Ross said. Commending the team for their commitment during a tough week, Ross is confident the team will be competitive against Runaway Bay. Beau Cordtz, Denzal Ngati, Jaleel Seve, Nathan Young and Tevita Folau will return this week following their selection to play in the 2018 Chairman’s Challenge in Brisbane’s – Brandon Park. Excited for the clash against the Runaway Bay Seagulls, the Tigers are eager to continue their momentum from earlier in the season.

As injury takes its toll on the Runaway Bay Seagulls, the team has seen a slight shift in their playing roster. Regular rostered A Grade players Andrew Vela and Keanu Rimene are both out of action for 5-8 weeks, following the physical clash against top of the ladder – the Currumbin Eagles two weeks ago. “We have had to rely on the assistance from our Reserve Grade side and focus on combinations to get the new boys up to speed,” Runaway Bay Seagulls Coach Nick Gleeson said. A great motivation and opportunity for the Reserve side as Runaway Bay Junior Darcy Sims and Ross Afoa both step up to fill the gaps. The Seagulls are working on discipline and aim to gel more as a side following the recent changes.

At other grounds, the Tugun Seahawks will battle it out with local rival the Currumbin Eagles, the Burleigh Bears will host the Bilambil Jets and up north Ormeau will play Tweed.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Round 6 Teams List

Tugun Seahawks v Currumbin Eagles at Boyd Street, Saturday May 26th – 2.30pm

Tugun Seahawks

1. Jai Veli 2. Levi Harm 3. Savern Rapana 4. Kainoa Gudgeon 5. Troy Canning 6. Keanu Te Kiri 7. Tayler Sorensen 8. Shane Gillham 9. Paul Sheedy 10. Will Takave 11. Ayden Lee 12. Nick Harrold (c) 13. Ashley Harrison 14. Fletcher Harrold 15. Mitch Willmot 16. Trent Smith 17. Rob Apanui

Coach: Clint Barends

Currumbin Eagles

1. Ken Allison 2. Steven Eliott 3. Jakob Smith 4. Blake Anderson 5. Joel Rapana 6. Jake Gleeson 7. Phil Ramage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Daniel Webb 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Liam Donelly 12. Ryan Milligan 13. Reece Worboys 14. Kieran Tarrant 15. Michael Tiopira 16. Ethan Williams 17. Michael Tiopira

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Southport Tigers v Runaway Bay Seagulls at Owen Park, Saturday May 26th – 6.20pm

Southport Tigers

1. Beau Cordtz 2. Corey Walker 3. Luke Ellis 4. Jonagh Gardiner 5. Tevita Folau 6. Jordan Birch 7. Zoram Watene 8. Denzal Ngati 9. Jacob Pottinger 10. Nathan Young 11. Tu Whakatihi (c) 12. Jaleel Seve 13. Dallas Donnelly 14. Reece Butler 15. Naz Monsall 16. Hala Masila 17. Simione Ata

Coach: Mark Ross

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1. Jack Mackin 2. Daniel Kelly 3. Jamie Anderson 4. Dylan Pelo 5. Jake Powell 6. Falani Arkell 7. Conner Toia 8. Erick Koelbel 9. Henry Chan-Ting 10. Tane Rapira 11. Jesse Malcom 12. Darcy Sims 13. Blake Midson 14. Siua Likiliki 15. Jenan Parrish 16. Ross Afoa 17. Ian Fuaivaa

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Burleigh Bears v Bilambil Jets at Pizzey Park, Sunday May 27th – 2pm

Burleigh Bears

1. Ben Tritz 2. Te McDonald 3. Josh Berkers 4. Justin Tavae 5. Mikey Williams 6. Josh Rogers 7. Zae Wallace 8. Jerome Veve 9. Marino Allen 10. Tyler Sparkes 11. Jesse Savage 12. Matt Robinson 13. Jeff Lynch 14. Anthony Gray 15. Darius Farmer 16. Kaleb Fuimaono 17. Lochlyn Sheldon 18. Zac Akehurst

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Bilambil Jets

1. Alex Fitzhugh 2. Nick Burns 3. Conrad Green 4. Hayden Tolland 5. Luke Jaegar 6. Carne Rhodes 7. Ben Black 8. Mitch Spackman 9. Thomas Rowles 10. Will Malone 11. Jack Rowles 12. Bailey Crompton 13. Harrison Burling 14. Tom Plater 15. Damien Ford 16.Drew McCullough 17. Brendan Welsh 18. Kobi Annand

Coach: Craig Rowles

Ormeau Shearers v Tweed Heads Seagulls at Brien Harris Oval, Sunday May 27th – 2pm

Ormeau Shearers

1. Josh Walker 2. Aloesi Qio 3. Hirini Robin 4. Jone Macilai 5. Liam Hori-Clark 6. Grayson Te Kiri 7. Nathan Wilson 8. Jaymz Douglas-Webb 9. Kendall Tamariki 10. Rob Parry 11. Vince Mellers 12. Maranatha Raeli 13. Trent Shield 14. Cody Evans 15. Shane Blow 16. Mohi Kendrick 17. Pheonix Su’a

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden Baker 2. Tre Williams 3. Kodie Parsons 4. Kurtis McDonald 5. Regan Muir 6. Talor Walters 7. Rex Johnson 8. Mitch Sharp 9. Ethan Roberts 10. Josh Harvey 11. Rory Lilies 12. Kirk Murphy 13. Reece Summer 14. Tony Mata’utai 15. Mike Gray 16. Harry Hughes 17. Macauley Dawson

Coach: Kevin Campion

Proud Sponsors of Rugby League Gold Coast

Titans Logo.png