2018 QTOP A Grade Round 5

Round 5 of the Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade competition will be highlighted by the clash between the Burleigh Bears and Currumbin Eagles at Pizzey Park on Sunday.

The young Bears side have been forced to regroup once again as injury takes an early toll. The Bears have constantly needed to adapt to changes so far this season and will do so again with captain Lorenzo Ma’afu, experienced forward Jeff Lynch and halfback Matt Egan all out. “Although it’s difficult when the side is constantly changing with commitments, the team is working extremely hard to be competitive in A Grade,” Burleigh Bears Coach Stuart Wilkins said. Wilkins described this week’s opposition, the Currumbin Eagles, as a consistent side with lots of experience.

In contrast to the Bears, the Currumbin Eagles have had a stable start to the 2018 season and sit at the top of the ladder as a result. “We have recruited a fair few players this year and really striving to build the club culture and family atmosphere,” Currumbin Eagles Coach Ryan Gundry said. The Eagles are striving to play a higher level of football and have gained some experienced players to do so, in the likes of Phil Ramage, Daniel Webb and Michael Burgess. Gundry believes the team is currently where they want to be in the competition and said he knows everyone is on the same page. Captained by Ken Allison, the Eagles know they need to push for the whole game and need to look for overall consistency in their performance.

Around the Gold Coast, the Runaway Bay Seagulls will take on the Ormeau Shearers, Bilambil will play local rivals Tugun and down south Tweed will host Southport.

In representative news, the Gold Coast Vikings Under 19s & A Grade squads will be travelling to Brisbane’s Brandon Park to play at the 2018 Alpha Sport Chairman’s Challenge. The tri-series between the Gold Coast, Brisbane and Ipswich is contested annually with the South East Queensland representative teams to be announced at the conclusion of the weekend.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Round 5 Teams List

Runaway Bay Seagulls v Ormeau Shearers at Bycroft Oval, Saturday May 19th – 6.30pm

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1. Jack Mackin 2. Daniel Kelly 3. Dylan Pelo 4. Ethan Mafi 5. Jake Powell 6. Falani Arkell 7. Conner Toia 8. Kingi Akuola 9. Henry Chan-Ting 10. Tane Rapira 11. Jesse Malcom 12. Darcy Sims 13. Blake Midson 14. Siua Likiliki 15. Ethan Gallop 16. Jamie Anderson 17. Rick Koelbel

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Ormeau Shearers

1. Josh Walker 2. Aloesi Qio 3. Hirini Robin 4. Dion Belford-Laulu 5. Israel Taligatus 6. Grayson Te Kiri 7. Nathan Wilson 8. Jaymz Douglas-Webb 9. Trent Shield 10. Mohi Kendrick 11. Vince Mellers 12. Jone Macilai 13. Shane Blow 15. Storm Fa’agase 16. Kendall Tamariki 17. Pheonix Su’a

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Bilambil Jets v Tugun Seahawks at Bilambil Sports, Sunday May 20th – 2pm

Bilambil Jets

1. Ben Robinson-Patch 2. Josh Quinn 3. Alex Fitzhugh 4. Hayden Tolland 5. Luke Jaegar 6. Carne Rhodes 7. Kobi Annand 8. Will Malone 9. Thomas Rowles 10. Harrison Burling 11. Damien Ford 12. Jack Rowles 13. Bailey Crompton 14. Tom Plater 15. Tom Raftery 16. Brendan Welsh 17. Drew McCullough

Coach: Craig Rowles

Tugun Seahawks

1. Jai Veli 2. Elijah Barnes 3. Ayden Lee 4. Troy Canning 5. Levi Harm 6. Keanu Te Kiri 7. Paul Sheedy 8. Blake Zillman 9. Tayler Sorensen 10. Shane Gillham 11. Rob Apanui 12. Mitch Willmot 13. Nick Harrold (c) 14. Fletcher Harrold 15. Will Takave 16. Trent Smith 17. Zac Walsh

Coach: Clint Barends

Burleigh Bears v Currumbin Eagles at Pizzey Park, Sunday May 20th – 2pm

Burleigh Bears

1. Ben Tritz 2. Te McDonald 3. Josh Berkers 4.Mikey Williams 5. Allan Lockwood 6. Josh Rogers 7. Jack Rogers 8. Jerome Veve 9. Zae Wallace 10. Kaleb Fuimaono 11. Jesse Savage 12. Matt Robinson 13. Sean Garner 14. Marino Allen 15. Zac Akehurst 16. Anthony Gray 17. Barton Lyons

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Currumbin Eagles

1. Hayden Alsop 2. Steven Eliott 3. Jakob Smith 4. Blake Anderson 5. Joel Rapana 6. Michael Burgess 7. Phil Ramage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Daniel Webb 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Liam Donelly 12. Ryan Milligan 13. Reece Worboys 14. Jake Gleeson 15. Josh Campbell 16. Ethan Williams 17. Blake Morrison 18. Michael Tiopira

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Tweed Heads Seagulls v Southport Tigers at Piggabeen Sports, Sunday May 20th – 3.45pm

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden Baker 2. Tre Williams 3. Kodie Parsons 4. Kurtis McDonald 5. Regan Muir 6. Talor Walters 7. Rex Johnson 8. Mitch Sharp 9. Ethan Roberts 10. Josh Harvey 11.Rory Lilies 12. Kirk Murphy 13. Reece Summer 14. Tony Mata’utai 15.Mike Gray 16.Harry Hughes 17.Macauley Dawson

Coach: Kevin Campion

Southport Tigers

1. Jordan Birch 2. Corey Walker 3. Dallas Donnelly 4. Luke Ellis 5. Jonagh Gardiner 6. Zoram Watene 7. Kobe Whalan 8. Hala Masila 9. Jacob Pottinger 10. Bronston Kennach 11. Tu Whakatihi (c) 12. Gideon Afemui 13. Justin McKenna 14. Kane Rudolph 15. Reece Butler 16. Senn Kane 17. Naz Monsall 18. Devon Toa

Coach: Mark Ross

Proud Sponsors of Rugby League Gold Coast

Titans Logo.png