2018 QTOP A Grade Round 3

Battle of the birds will see the Tugun Seahawks and the Tweed Heads Seagulls go head to head in the highlighted match of the round, in the 2018 QTOP A Grade Competition.

The local derby between Tugun and Tweed will be one to watch as both teams struggle to find their feet in the 2018 season.

Tweed just fell short last weekend after Currumbin put in a penalty kick goal to make the full- time score 2-0. Neck and neck for most of the match, 2018 will prove to be a challenging year for Tweed. Captained by long serving Seagull Josh Harvey, the Tweed side has seen some changes to the A Grade side from previous years and will be coached by former Australian and Maroons representative Kevin Campion. As six players return from last year’s A Grade side, newly appointed Tugun Seahawks coach Clint Barends goal was to recruit players from the junior ranks. “We have had a big rotation in players and need to move forward to rebuild the club,” Seahawks coach Clint Barends said. Recruiting some U19s players and big names like Ashley Harrison and Nick Harrold, the team is looking forward to the season ahead. Coming out of retirement Rob Apanui has also joined the squad for 2018 in the hope to help rebuild the club. Nursing a couple of injuries, the Seahawks are still excited for the local clash this weekend.

The rest of the weekend will see the top of the ladder Runaway Bay Seagulls take on the Burleigh Bears, Currumbin will host Ormeau at Galleon Way and down south the Bilambil Jets will play host to the Southport Tigers.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Round 3 Teams List

Runaway Bay Seagulls v Burleigh Bears at Bycroft Oval, Saturday May 5th – 5pm

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1.Jack Mackin 2.Daniel Kelly 3.Jamie Anderson 4.Matt Gandy 5.Jake Powell 6.Falani arkell 7.Conner Toia 8.Jah Nofoagatotoa 9.Henry Chan-Ting 10.Tane Rapira 11.Andrew Vela 12.Jesse Malcom 13.Blake Midson 14.Jenan Parrish 15.Kimihia Pakipaki-Hemopo 16.Dylan Pelo

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Burleigh Bears

1.Ben Fritz 2.Corey Alexander 3.Josh Berkers 4.Te McDonald 5.Allan Lockwood 6.Josh Rogers 7.Matt Egan 8.Jerome Veve 9.Zae Wallace 10.Tyler Sparkes 11.Jesse Savage 12.Matt Robinson 13.Lorenzo Ma’afu 14.Jack Rogers 15.Kaleb Fuimaono 16.Jeff Lynch 17.Barton Lyons 18.Marino Allen

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Currumbin Eagles v Ormeau Shearers at Galleon Way, Saturday May 5th – 3pm

Currumbin Eagles

1.Hayden Alsop 2.Steven Eliott 3.Ken Allison (c) 4.Blake Anderson 5.Jake Smith 6.Michael Burgess 7.Phil Rammage 8.Jarrod Gill 9.Daniel Webb 10.Dane Weston 11.Liam Donelly 12.Ryan Milligan 13.Reece Worboys 14.Jake Gleeson 15.Pele Peletelese 16.Josh Campbell 17.Ethan Williams

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Ormeau Shearers

1.Josh Walker 2.Aloesi Qio 3.Bj Burgess 4.Vince Mellars 5.Israel Taligatus 6.Grayson Te Kiri 7.Nathan Wilson 8.Jaymz Douglas-Webb 9.Dion McClymont 10.Mohi Kendrick 11.Dion Belford-Laulu 12.Pheonix Su’a 13.Trent Sheild 14.Maranatha Raeli 15.Jone Macilai 16.Storm Fa’agas 17.Kendall Tamariki

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Tugun Seahawks v Tweed Heads Seagulls at Boyd Street, Sunday May 6th – 2pm

Tugun Seahawks

1.Corey Morris 2.Elijah Barnes 3.Savern Rapana 4.Kainoa Gudgeon 5.Jai Veli 6.Keanu Te Kiri 7.Paul Sheedy 8.Bryce Thomas (c) 9.Tayler Sorensen 10.Blake Zillman 11.Ayden Lee 12.Trent Smith 13.Rob Apanui 14.Jayden Parker 15.Mitch Willmot 16.Cooper Barrile 17.Will Takave

Coach: Clint Barends

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1.Jayden Baker 2.Tre Williams 3.Kodie Parsons 4.Talor Walters 5.Macaley Dawson 6.Kurtis McDonald 7.Ethan Roberts 8.Mitch Sharp 9.Jack Cook 10.Jordan Aiono 11.Reece Summer 12.Rory Lilies 13.Josh Harvey (c) 14.Jason McGrady 15.Tony Mata’utai 16.Harry Hughes 17.Kirk Murphy

Coach: Kevin Campion

Bilambil Jets v Southport Tigers at Bilambil Sports, Sunday May 6th – 2pm

Bilambil Jets

1.Alex Fitzhugh 2.Luke Jaeger 3.Jack Welsh 4.Hayden Toland 5.Josh Quinn 6.Jobi Annand 7.Ben Black 8.Mitch Spackman (c) 9.Thomas Rowles 10.Brendan Welsh 11.Ethan Crowe 12.Bailey Crompton 13.Harrison Burling 14.Thomas Plater 15.Carne Rhodes 16.Damien Ford 17.Will Malone

Coach: Craig Rowles

Southport Tigers

1.Beau Cordtz 2.Sam Ross 3.Dallas Donnelly 4.Jonagh Gardiner 5.Tevita Folau 6.Zoram Watene 7.Kobe Whalen 8.Denzil Ngati 9.Kane Rudolph 10.Nathan Young 11.Tu Whakatiki-Paikea 12.Simione Ata 13.Jaleel Seve 14.Hala Masila 15.Bronston Kennach 16.Corry Walker 17.Naz Monsall

Coach: Mark Ross

Proud Sponsors of Rugby League Gold Coast

Titans Logo.png