RLGC Players in Commonwealth

Over the weekend 10 Nations including Australia, England, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Samoa and Tonga headed to Moreton Bay for the 2018 Rugby League Commonwealth Championships. The Rugby League 9’s tournament was held at Dolphin Stadium on February 23 and 24, in the lead-up to the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Congratulations to all the teams, players and staff that were selected and participated over the two days.

A positive for Gold Coast Grassroots as some players showcased over the weekend emerged from junior and senior football on the Gold Coast.

Conor Carey (Ormeau Junior, Gold Coast Vikings) and Hayden Schwass (Mudgeeraba Juniors, Gold Coast Vikings and Burleigh Seniors) both appeared in the Commonwealth winning Australian Men’s side defeating Tonga 14-8 in the final.

Vanessa Foliaki (Burleigh Senior Women’s), Tallisha Harden (Burleigh Senior Women’s) and Zahara Temara (Nerang Junior and Burleigh Senior Women’s) all represented the Jillaroos and defeated Samoa in the final 14-8.

Mitch Gleeson (Runaway Bay Junior and Senior) also featured over the weekend in the Australian Physical Disability side. Similar to the Masters rules (players wear different pants to indicate level of contact), Gleeson was co-captain to the winning Commonwealth side.

A great example of how there is a pathway for all levels of Rugby League – The Greatest Game of All!

Click here for QRL story and full team list.

Proud Sponsors of Rugby League Gold Coast

Titans Logo.png