A Grade Preliminary Final

The preliminary final for the Rugby League Gold Coast A-Grade competition will kick off this weekend. The Bilambil Jets will not be progressing to this week’s finals after being knocked out of the finals by the Runaway Bay Seagulls in a close 28-24 defeat in last weekend’s elimination match.

Tugun Seahawks v Runaway Bay Seagulls

The Tugun Seahawks and Runaway Bay Seagulls will go head to head this week for the final spot in the 2017 Rugby League Gold Coast A-Grade Grand Final. A close and physical match ahead as previous scores were only separated by a couple of points. The Seahawks defeating the Seagulls 22-20 in Round 2 and the Seagulls defeating the Seahawks 29-28 in Round 11. The Seagulls head into this week’s final following their win against the Bilambil Jets 28-24 last weekend. The Seagulls are excited to play finals football after being knocked out in the first-round last year. “We have started seeing some consistency in our playing roster which is great timing for the finals,” Seagulls coach Clinton Toopi said. Toopi hopes the team can match the intensity of the Seahawks and knows they will need to be physical in the middle. Jamie Anderson, Jake Powell and Falani Arkell will be players to look out for.

Following last weekend’s 24-4 defeat by the Burleigh Bears, the Tugun Seahawks are motivated to defeat the Seagulls and rectify their defeat in the Grand Final against the Bears. “We went away from our game plan and Burleigh just lined up really well,” Seahawks coach Martin Griese said. Not playing their top form last weekend, the Seahawks are battered and bruised and need to reassess their structure for this week against the Seagulls. With a couple players in doubt due to injury, Griese will be looking for a team performance as each player needs to perform their individual position to strengthen the team.

Preliminary Final Teams List

Tugun Seahawks v Runaway Bay Seagulls at Boyd Street, Sunday, September 10th – 2pm

Tugun Seahawks

1. Corey Morris 2. Adam Barnes 3. Jabe Gamble 4. Tim Cassidy 5. Zac Jones 6. Grayson Te Kiri 7. Drumayne Dayberg-Muir 8. Bryce Thomas 9. Chris Thomas 10. Chris Hodges 11. Tu Whakatihi 12. Ayden Lee (c) 13. Dan Webb 14. Savern Rapana 15. Dean Murphy (c) 16. Shane Gray 17. Brad Adams

Coach: Martin Griese

Runaway Bay

1. John Mackin 2. Walter Lauenstein 3. Jamie Anderson 4. Matt Gandy 5. Jake Powell 6. Henry Chan Ting 7. Falani Arkell 8. Jordan McLaughlin 9. Ethan Gallop 10. Jackson O’Leary 11. Kimi Hempo 12. Andrew Vela 13. Blake Midson 14. Kingi Akauola 15. Brodie Clarke 16. Daniel Kelly 17. Robert Reid

Coach: Clinton Toopi

Proud Sponsors of Rugby League Gold Coast

Titans Logo.png