DMC Grand Final & R17

The last round of the Rugby League Gold Coast A Grade Competition will kick off with the Debbie Marzella Reserve Grade Cup, Grand Final on Saturday. Unfortunately, the Tugun v Ormeau match to be played on Sunday will not be going ahead due to the lack of player numbers in the Ormeau side.

Mudgeeraba Redbacks v Parkwood Sharks

The Debbie Marzella Reserve Grade Cup Grand Final will kick off this weekend on Saturday, which will see the Mudgeeraba Redbacks take on the Parkwood Sharks at Musgrave Avenue, Parkwood. At the top of the competition for most of the year, the Mudgeeraba Redbacks are looking to be the favourites. The Redbacks have shown consistency throughout the year and have had a week’s rest after going straight through to the Grand Final, defeating the Helensvale Hornets in semi-final one. Coming from third position, the Parkwood Sharks have gained the confidence after defeating the Helensvale Hornets 18-16 for the first time this year, in the preliminary final. “It is a great achievement for the club to make the final and shows the hard work has paid off for the boys,” Sharks coach Craig Wallace said. The key for the Sharks will be to play smart and tough football and ensure everyone performs their individual jobs.

Bilambil Jets v Southport Tigers

The Bilambil Jets will take on the Southport Tigers this weekend to stay in the top five and within finals contention. A tough loss last week against the Burleigh Bears as the Jets struggle to compete against the top side losing 56-12. Securing a win against the Southport Tigers will ensure they play semi-finals next week and a chance to compete for the A Grade title. Although playing their last game, the Southport Tigers are gearing up to give the Jets a challenge. “We have a good base of 10 players and just trying to get a team together this week to compete,” Tigers coach Tim Cannard said. Cannard emphasised the importance that players want to be there and hopes the team can finish on a high note. Stand out players to look out for are Zoram Watene, Justin McKenna and Adam Kelly.

Burleigh Bears v Runaway Bay Seagulls

Top of the table clash will see the Burleigh Bears take on the Runaway Bay Seagulls, at Pizzey Park. Both clubs have additional motivation this week as the 2017 Club Championship is on the line, with Runaway Bay leading the tally by one point. The Seagulls will be hungry against the Bears as they will want to maintain second position and host the first semi-final. Although unable to play last weekend due to Ormeau’s forfeit, the Seagulls have maintained a strong training week and are eager for the match up. Although already established as the minor premiers of the A Grade competition, the Burleigh Bears know this week is no different. “The boys executed the game plan to perfection and I am extremely happy with the way they performed last week,” Bears coach Stuart Wilkins said. The Bears will have a more settled side with returning players and have had a light training week. Stand out players to look out for are Jesse Malcolm and Lorenzo Maafu.

Tweed Heads Seagulls v Currumbin Eagles

Down south the Tweed Heads Seagulls will take on the Currumbin Eagles at Piggabeen Sports. Just outside finals contention, the Eagles main goal was to improve each week. “Although we struggle with a bit of depth, the boys still put in the effort each week,” Eagles coach Ryan Gundry said. The Eagles will be looking to finish the season on a high, although they cannot make finals due to for and against points, the team is still aiming to be competition against the Seagulls. Stand out players to look out for are Jarrod Gill and Jake Gould. Starting to see combinations take effect, the Tweed Heads Seagulls are seeing some continuity leading into the finals. “The effort to support each other and the level of intensity from the team was good to see,” Seagulls coach Darryl Fisher said. Although the Seagulls will see some changes due to injury and the Queensland Cup side, Fisher is confident the team can still perform. Jack Cook will step up as captain with Joshua Harvey out from injury and players to watch for are Jarrod Morfett, David Sheridan and Will Johnstone.

Round 17 Teams List

Mudgeeraba Redbacks v Parkwood Sharks at 180 Musgrave Ave, Saturday, August 19th – 5pm

Mudgeeraba Redbacks

1. Troy Cope 2. Chris Steel 3. Tyson Timu 4. Te Awa King 5. Jiofiliti Tuiloma 6. Regan Johnson 7. Newton Ferris 8. Corey Ahu 9. Kane Kelleher 10. Chris Kowaltzke 11. Dan Matthews 12. Jesse Rewita 13. Peter Woodward 14. Kahu Matenga 15. Alfred Newman 16. Rewi Kape 17. Joel Sullivan 18. Jarred Newton 19. Tyler Walters

Coach: Wayne Forbes

Parkwood Sharks

1. Daniel Wilson 2. David Stewart 3. Joseph Malion 4. Jessie Richards-Thompson 5. Karl Mason 6. Marty Burkhardt 7. Jayden Young 8. Hakolo Walters 9. Phillip Prendergast 10. Hadlee Rau 11. Mitchell Tausi 13. Logan Wallace 14. Nathan Welburn 15. William Tange 16. Kingstimer Paraia 17. Cooper Wallace 18. Riley Manning 21. Martin Martini

Coach: Craig Wallace

Bilambil Jets v Southport Tigers at Bilambil Sports, Sunday, August 20th – 2pm

Bilambil Jets

1. Luke Jaeger 2. Mitch Rawlins 3. Luke Harvey 4. Jackson Springer 5. Ben Bullock 6. Cal Lynn 7. Carne Rhodes 8. Mitch Spackman (c) 9. Alex Fitzhugh 10. Wade Hall 11. Tom Raftery 12. Harrison Burling 13. Brendan Welsh 14. Tom Dawney 15. Nick Bond 16. Chris Rigney 17. Thomas Plater

Coach: Craig Rowles

Southport Tigers

1. TBA 2. Josh Wooton 3. Lewis Barnett 4. Naz Monsall 5. Classie Oti 6. Scott Jenson 7. Zoram Watene 8. Judaea Monsall 9. Izzy Oti 10. Adam Kelly 11. TBA 12. Jake Landers 13. Mick Esdale 17. Sam Morton 18. Cody Evans 19. Bronston Kennach 20. Corey Griffiths

Coach: Tim Cannard

Burleigh Bears v Runaway Bay Seagulls at Pizzey Park, Sunday, August 20th – 2pm

Burleigh Bears

1. Toby McIntosh 2. Waka Wanahi 3. Dylan Pelo 4. Te Rangiatea McDonald 5. Corey Alexander 6. Daniel Schwass 7. Jacob Grant 8. Daymeric Pelo 9. Sam Grant 10. Anthony Gray 11. Jesse Malcolm 12. Sam Swift 13. Lorenzo Maafu 14. Jason Bradfield 15. Tane Rapira 16. Ethan Mafi 17. Huston Holloway

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Runaway Bay

1. John Mackin 2. Walter Launstein 3. Daniel Kelly 4. Matt Gandy (c) 5. Jake Powell 6. Jamie Anderson 7. Falani Arkell 8. Santana Latu 9. Henry Chan-Ting 10. Jackson O’Leary 11. Kimihia Hemopo 12. Andrew Vela 13. Brodie Clark 14. Dion Belford-Laulu 15. Ethan Gallop 16. Blake Midson 17. Robert Reid

Coach: Clinton Toopi

Tweed Heads Seagulls v Currumbin Eagles at Piggabeen Sports, Sunday, August 20th – 3.30pm

Tweed Heads

1. Josh Ralph 2. David Sheidan 3. Macauley Dawson 4. Sione Alofi 5. Shaquille Gafa 6. Kobi Annand 7. Paul Sheedy 9. Jarrod Morfett 9. Jenan Parrish 10. Jackson Clarke 11. Mike Gray 12. Jack Cook (c) 13. Maia Sands 14. Jordan Aiono 15. Sam Tochterman 16. Shaun Hinton 17. Diaz Sharrock

Coach: Darryl Fisher

Currumbin Eagles

1. Jake Gould 2. Lachie Smith 3. Kenny Allison (c) 4. Miki Pohio 5. Harley Wood 6. Kyle Ramage 7. Jake Gleeson 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Kelly Benson 10. Kieran Tarrant 11. Liam Donnelly 12. Scott Avery 13. Jacob Roby 14. Ethan Williams 15. Jayde Batchelor 16. Jake Harlen 17. Brendan Ratcliff

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Proud Sponsors of Rugby League Gold Coast

Titans Logo.png